Tommy Bahama Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Tommy Bahama
Shop Home-Home_Living-Furniture-Outdoor or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Tommy Bahama Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Tommy Bahama.

Tommy Bahama Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair

Our deluxe, reclining backpack chair lets you Relax in Style™ on any beach in the world! Available only through Tommy Bahama and printed with our custom design, it's 2.5" wider than other backpack chairs and has a lightweight frame of aluminum and steel that collapses for hands-free toting. Hardwood armrests provide a unique touch of quality, while an insulated cooler pouch, cell phone holder, towel bar and more ensure you'll always have the best seat in paradise!
Average Rating:
4.74 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(292 reviews) 292
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 292 reviews
5 stars
245
4 stars
29
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
1
277 out of 290(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Review 1 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarGolferGirl24
Location: Toms River, New Jersey
Tommy Bahama:Paradise Enthusiast
Age Range:55-65
Gender:Female
Body Type:Slender
Height:5'
:4"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJuly 27, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Best Beach Chair I have ever purchased

Love the pouch and the cooler on the back of the chair. How clever. I put my towel and lotion in the top pouch. The cooler is great for several drinks. Shoulder strap on chair is padded and comfortable. Could literally go "hands free" if I wanted to. Love this chair. Would like to have matching towel!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarJJW228
Location: New England
Tommy Bahama:Relaxologist
Age Range:45-54
Gender:Male
Body Type:Average
Height:6'
:1"
PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Outstanding

Have owned several of these type of chairs over the years, some expensive, some inexpensive. This chair is WELL worth the price! Outstanding quality, construction, features, comfort, utility. Especially appreciate the pockets, head pillow, shoulder straps. THis chair seems wider than most, which is quite a positive for comfort.
Another Tommy Bahama hit! You never disappoint.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
This review is fromDeluxe Backpack Beach Chair.
Customer avatarsyllis61
Location: Stanford, KY 40484, USA
Tommy Bahama:Beach Bum
Age Range:55-65
Gender:Female
Body Type:Curvy
Height:5'
:2"
PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Excellent-Wide chair!!

Very light weight, not heavy when on your back. The cooler is great at the bottom, and the extra zipped space at the top is nice for suntan lotions, etc.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatareagle
Location: Bethesda, Md.
Gender:Male
Body Type:Average
Height:5'
:9"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Great Beach Chair

It was amazing to see the number of Tommy beach chairs at upscale Beach Haven, NJ, considering they are not sold at beach outlets. Almost half the chairs were Tommy of one color, design, or rear storage package or another.
I spent a week on the beach in comfortable style. The fabric of the chair was stretched very tight which caused a sound like a drum being struck when I sat down. Disconcerting at first, this sound was almost gone by weeks end as I broke in the chair. The towel rack is not exceptionally tight and tends to droop a bit when a heavy beach towel, (older model Tommy), gets wet as the day goes on. The bottom picked up some moisture and sand/salt markings during the week. I didn't notice them until clean up at the end of the trip and they rinsed away nicely with just fresh water.
I didn't use the back pack straps as we use a cart to haul gear down to the beach, but many people nearby did and the system seemed to work well but prevents you from using any other types of shoulder bags. The chair is very light weight, but very strong. The storage on the back of the chair on this model is limited but extremely effective for my use. The top pocket worked great for sunglasses, t-shirts, hats etc. while in the water. The bottom, "thermal" pocket worked very well to protect e-readers, tablets, phones etc. from the elements like water, rain, sand and extreme heat. I was really surprised. On windy says, the hanging pockets on the side tend to collect sand as in any other chair so equipped. The chair sits nice and low in the sand and is very stable. It is very comfortable, and the head rest is a nice touch. The chair is wide and has a long back.
My last beach chair lasted 23 years, it remains to be seen how long this one will make it but at the end of the week it looked brand new after some hard use. Both of my brothers have Tommy beach chairs and are thrilled with them and none of us are easy to please.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
This review is fromDeluxe Backpack Beach Chair.
Customer avatarnaplestommygirl
Location: New Jersey
Tommy Bahama:Paradise Enthusiast
Age Range:45-54
Gender:Female
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Very Tommy Bahama

Leave it to Tommy Bahama to know exactly what's needed to RELAX on the beach. I love these chairs. I bought two in red and two in blue so my Husband, Son, Daughter-in-Law and I can enjoy a touch of paradise TB style!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarnaplestommygirl
Location: New Jersey
Tommy Bahama:Paradise Enthusiast
Age Range:45-54
Gender:Female
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Very Tommy Bahama

Leave it to Tommy Bahama to know exactly what's needed to RELAX on the beach! Love these chairs. Bought two in blue and two in red so my Husband, Son, Daughter-in-Law and I can enjoy a touch of paradise on the beach TB style!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
This review is fromDeluxe Backpack Beach Chair.
Customer avatarBCARTY5
Location: Harleysville, PA
Tommy Bahama:Island Time Expert
Age Range:35-44
Gender:Male
Body Type:Thin
Height:5'
:8"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Great Chairs

My parents got these for Christmas. Great chairs. Very comfortable. The wooden handles are VERY ncie too. Easy to use and fold. The backpack is super cool.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarGAFOOT
Location: Coastal Georgia
Tommy Bahama:Beach Bum
Age Range:55-65
Gender:Male
Body Type:Average
Height:6'
:2"
PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Great chair. Looks and feels great

Comfortable. Easy to carry and open. Reclines fully and sleeps well. :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarkatfish222
Location: Panama City Beach
Tommy Bahama:Relaxologist
Age Range:55-65
Gender:Male
Body Type:Average
Height:6'
:4"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

chair very comfortable

being that this our third TB chair purchase, it goes without saying that we enjoy this beach addition. a great chair that also weathers a 6'4", 245 lb. guy, the head rest and drink holder are bonus features. bottom line....our beach visitors are so impressed with the chair that they end up purchasing one after they return home !
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatardmanaples
Location: Naples Maine
Tommy Bahama:Island Time Expert
Age Range:45-54
Gender:Female
Body Type:Average
Height:5'
:5"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Awesome Beach Chair

I have been waiting years to buy a good beach chair and I never found one I loved. I love this one! I bought two and was suprised even further to find the two pockets on the backs of the chair (one is even insulated!). I also bought the beach towel to match. Favorite Christmas gift by far!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarChristineSPB
Location: St. Pete, FL
Tommy Bahama:Relaxologist
Age Range:45-54
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Very comfortable for sitting on the beach!

This chair has everything you need to spend the day at the beach. There are enough storage compartments for everything you need. But don't forget to bring you TB cooler and stay a little longer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarkatfish222
Location: Panama City Beach
Tommy Bahama:Relaxologist
Age Range:55-65
Gender:Male
Body Type:Average
Height:6'
:4"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
Average Rating 4 / 5

Comfortable and sturdy

I purchased this product because, living at the beach, you can never have enough beach chairs(can you spell "company"). I like the roominess and the additional features, particularly the pillow and cooler pouch, and being a XXL guy, the beach chair is sturdy enough to hold my less than perfect frame.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarBresnahanClan
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Tommy Bahama:Paradise Enthusiast
Age Range:45-54
Gender:Male
Body Type:Average
Height:6'
:1"
PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Best Beach Chair on the market!!

Absolutely the BEST beach chair on the market today. Easy to use with excellent storage / cooler. Most importantly....extremely comfortable! Very stylish to go with it. This is the total package!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
This review is fromDeluxe Backpack Beach Chair.
Customer avatarSuSu
Location: Virgina Beach
Tommy Bahama:Paradise Enthusiast
Age Range:55-65
Gender:Female
Body Type:Slender
Height:5'
:5"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedOctober 8, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Great Beach Chair

This is a great beach chair, fairly light weight, has built in cooler, storage, and cup holders. I love having the shoulder straps. That in itself frees up your hands for carrying other beach items like umbrellas and beach bags. As long as you travel light, you can put drinks, sandwiches, snacks and ice all in the built in cooler so that eliminates having to bring a separate cooler. Everyone likes to travel light at the beach and usually that is impossible. This chair certainly is a space saver and has a lot of storage. In addition to all these great features, it is quite comfortable and has many several positions to help maintain your overall tan. I definitely recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
This review is fromDeluxe Backpack Beach Chair.
Customer avatarYankeeBill
Location: Morristown,NJ
Tommy Bahama:Relaxologist
Age Range:45-54
Gender:Male
Body Type:Average
Height:5'
:11"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Another great product from Tommy Bahama.

This chair is easy to cart around the beach and it is quite comfortable to sit back and get a tan in. Plenty of places to store the normal beach odds and ends and also some cold drinks! I love this chair! Another great product from Tommy Bahama.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarYankeeBill
Location: Morristown,NJ
Tommy Bahama:Relaxologist
Age Range:45-54
Gender:Male
Body Type:Average
Height:5'
:11"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

This product is evrything Tommy Bahama said it would be!

This chair is easy to cart around the beach and it is quite comfortable to sit back and get a tan in. Plenty of places to store the normal beach odds and ends and also some cold drinks! I love this chair!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
This review is fromDeluxe Backpack Beach Chair.
Customer avatarmvymike
Location: englewood, florida
Tommy Bahama:Hammock Supervisor
Age Range:55-65
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

well thought out chair

solid construction , lots of pockets, carry with hand strap or back strap,plenty of width for us extra healthy guys, very confortable , well thought out chair, thanks T.B.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarKadieque
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Tommy Bahama:Beach Bum
Age Range:45-54
Gender:Female
Body Type:Average
Height:5'
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

These chairs are the BEST!!

My husband & I were on holidays in Laguna Beach & the house we rented had these chairs for the guests to use. We liked them so much we ordered them online before we finished our vacation. We had about a 5 minute walk to the beach and having the backpack style made them a snap to carry. As well the built in pillow also kept your head from being knocked by the legs of the chair when you were carrying it. Also it has a fairly big zippered pocket as well as an insulated cooler, big enough for about 6 cans & ice. The wooden arm rests are very comfortable & it even has a built in towel rack on the back of it. Of course it has a place for your drink & cell phone. What more could you think of in a beach chair? Perfect!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
This review is fromDeluxe Backpack Beach Chair.
Customer avatarKDUB
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Tommy Bahama:Beach Bum
Age Range:18-24
Gender:Female
Body Type:Average
Height:5'
:2"
Average Fit
Too Small
True To Size
Too Big
PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Love my new beach chair!

The fact that I can carry it on my back may be the best part, instead of lugging around my big beach bag. I am able to throw my book, towel and sunscreen into the top pouch, and drinks into the cooler pouch below. It also has a cup holder and a little pouch that holds my cell phone. Great product, I highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Relax in Style™ Deluxe Backpack Beach Chair
Customer avatarSatisfied59
Location: Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:45-54
Gender:Female
PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
Average Rating 5 / 5

Nice Chairs!

Nice wide comfortable chairs. Love all the storage available right on the chair! Good quality construction and materials.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>